Introduced by:JohnsonDate:04/05/11Hearing:05/03/11Action:Postponed as Amended
until 09/06/11Date:09/06/11Action:Failed to EnactVote:3 Yes, 6 No, 0 Absent

KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH ORDINANCE 2011-07

AN ORDINANCE REDUCING THE NUMBER OF KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH PLANNING COMMISSIONERS FROM 13 TO 11

- WHEREAS, Ordinance 2001-29 increased the KPB Planning Commission from 11 members to 13 members; and
- WHEREAS, the workload of the Planning Commission can be accomplished by fewer than 13 planning commissioners; and
- WHEREAS, KPB 2.40.010 provides that the planning commission shall include one member from each first class or home rule city of the borough, which is not required by statute; and
- **WHEREAS,** AS 29.40.020 requires that representation on the planning commission from within the first class and home rule cities be proportionate with the representation of the planning commission on a nonareawide basis; and
- WHEREAS, according to the most current census data, the City of Seldovia has less than 260 residents, while the other first class cities in the borough all have more than 2,600 residents; and
- **WHEREAS,** the cost of providing Seldovia with a planning commissioner is nearly twice the cost of providing other cities with planning commissioners; and
- WHEREAS, Seldovia seldom has a subject on planning commission agendas; and
- WHEREAS, the reduction of one planning commissioner from a city would allow for the reduction of a planning commission seat from outside cities in accordance with AS 29.40.020(A); and
- WHEREAS, the Kenai Peninsula Borough is now facing budget constraints; and
- WHEREAS, the Kenai Peninsula Borough will very likely face budget constraints in the future; and

WHEREAS, it is in the best interest of the borough taxpayers to streamline government wherever possible;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

SECTION h KPB 2.40.010 is amended as follows:

2.40.010. Membership—Apportionment.

In accordance with AS 29.40.020(A):

- The planning commission shall consist of a maximum of eleven A. [THIRTEEN] members including one member each from the cities of Kenai, Soldotna, and Seward and a member from either the city of Homer or city of Seldovia. The seats on the borough planning commission shall be apportioned so that the number of commissioners from first class and home rule cities reflects the proportion of borough population residing in first class and home rule cities. The home rule and first class city representatives on the borough planning commission shall be selected by the borough mayor and confirmed by the assembly from a list submitted by the respective city council. Both the Homer and Seldovia city councils may submit a list for consideration when the Homer-Seldovia seat is vacant. [FROM EACH FIRST CLASS OR HOME RULE CITY OF THE BOROUGH AND THE REMAINDER APPORTIONED SO THAT THE NUMBER OF MEMBERS FROM HOME RULE AND FIRST CDASS CITIES REFLECTS THE PROPORTION OF BOROUGH POPULATION RESIDING IN HOME RULE AND FIRST CLASS CITIES LOCATED IN THE BOROUGH.] The planning commission seats within the first class or home rule cities of the borough are:
 - 1. Kenai
 - 2. Soldotna
 - 3. Seward
 - 4. Homer/Seldovia
 - [5. SELDOVIA]
- B. One planning commissioner from outside of first class and home rule cities shall be appointed by the mayor and confirmed by the assembly from each of the following areas as generally described below and depicted in the map on file at the borough clerk's office bearing the borough seal and identified as the planning commission apportionment map approved in Ordinance [2001-29]. The sections described in the map and below provide guidelines from which deviations are permitted consistent with the intent that commissioners reside in areas throughout the borough:

5.[6.] East Peninsula;

- <u>6.[</u>7.] Southwest Borough;
- 7.[8.] Anchor Point/Ninilchik;
- 8.[9.] Kasilof/Clam Gulch;
- 9.[10.] Kalifornsky Beach
- 10.[11.] Ridgeway/Sterling;
- [12. STERLING;]
- 11.[13.] Northwest Borough.

SECTION 2. That this ordinance takes effect July 31, 2012.

ENACTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS * DAY OF * 2011.

ATTEST:

Gary Knopp, Assembly President

Johni Blankenship, Borough Clerk

Yes:Johnson, Tauriainen, KnoppNo:Haggerty, McClure, Murphy, Pierce, Smalley, Smith

None

Absent: