Mayor 08/16/11 09/20/11 Enacted as Amended 8 Yes, 0 No. 1 Absent

KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH ORDINANCE 2011-19-09

AN ORDINANCE ACCEPTING AND APPROPRIATING \$4,500,000 FROM THE STATE OF ALASKA TO THE BOROUGH ROAD SERVICE AREA FOR CAPITAL IMPROVEMENT PROJECTS

- WHEREAS, the Road Service Area (RSA) has compiled a list of road capital improvement projects that qualify for state funding; and
- WHEREAS, Senate Bill 46, which appropriated funding to the borough for road improvements, was passed by the State Legislature and signed by the Governor on June 29, 2011; and
- WHEREAS, the borough received notice from the State of Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development that a legislative grant in the amount of \$4,500,000 has been awarded to the borough for road improvements; and
- WHEREAS, at its regular meeting on August 23, 2011, the RSA Board of Directors approved RSA Resolution 2011-12 and recommended acceptance of the \$4,500,000 from the State of Alaska for Kenai Peninsula Borough road improvement projects;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT ORDAINED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

- **SECTION 1.** That the mayor is authorized to accept on behalf of the Road Service Area a grant from the Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development in the amount of \$4,500,000 for road improvements, and is authorized to execute a grant agreement and any other documents deemed necessary to accept the grant and to fulfill the intents and purposes of this ordinance.
- SECTION 2. That grant funds in the amount of \$4,500,000 are hereby appropriated to 434.33950.12383.49999 a project account.
- **SECTION 3.** That due to the length and nature of this project, the appropriations established through this ordinance shall not lapse at the end of any particular fiscal year.
- SECTION 4. This ordinance shall become effective immediately upon its enactment.

ENACTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 20TH DAY OF SEPTEMBER, 2011.

ATTEST:

Johni Blankenship, Borough Clerk

Knopp,/Assembly President Garv



Yes: Haggerty, Johnson, McClure, Murphy, Smalley, Smith, Tauriainen, Pierce

No: None

Absent: Knopp