KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH

Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly

144 North Binkley Street Soldotna, AK 99669 Phone 907-714-2160 Fax 907-714-2388

Gary Knopp, Assembly President Charlie Pierce, Vice President

MEMORANDUM

TO:

Gary Knopp, Assembly President

Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly Members

FROM:

Sue McClure, Assembly Member B. for A. M.

DATE:

July 3, 2012

RE:

Ordinance 2012-28, amending KPB 16.50.030 to provide that all seats of the Seward-

Bear Creek Flood Service Area Board shall be areawide seats

The Seward-Bear Creek Flood Service Area Board ("SBCFSAB") includes seven seats, of which four must be city residents and three must be elected from the residents of the area outside the city of Seward but within the service area boundary. These requirements were intended to ensure both areas were represented on the board. However, two of the four city seats have been vacant since the October 2011 election and the majority of previous board vacancies were for the city seats. Having two vacancies on a seven member board creates a challenge as four members of the board must vote to approve any item and frequently not all five seated members are able to attend board meetings. Additionally, the service area board members are intended to represent the interests of the entire service area, not just the city or the area outside of the city. Converting this board into a board that is elected areawide would best serve the interests of the borough by expanding the available pool of candidates for all seven seats. Your favorable consideration of this ordinance would be appreciated.