Introduced by: Date: Action:

Vote:

Mayor 05/03/11 Adopted 9 Yes, 0 No, 0 Absent

KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH RESOLUTION 2011-043

A RESOLUTION APPROVING TWENTY-SEVEN UNINCORPORATED COMMUNITIES FOR PARTICIPATION IN THE STATE'S FISCAL YEAR 2012 COMMUNITY REVENUE SHARING PROGRAM

- WHEREAS, the Alaska State Legislature has provided funding to municipalities and unincorporated communities through the Community Revenue Sharing Program; and
- WHEREAS, AS 29.60.865 and 3 AAC 180.070 require the assembly of a borough or unified municipality to adopt a resolution identifying those unincorporated communities located within their municipal boundaries that the assembly determines meet the Community Revenue Sharing Program eligibility criteria established under AS 29.60.865, AS 29.60.879, and 3 AAC 180.110; and
- WHEREAS, AS 29.60.865 requires the unincorporated community to have either a Native village council or incorporated nonprofit entity within its boundaries that will agree to receive and spend the Community Revenue Sharing payment for the public benefit of the unincorporated community; and
- WHEREAS, the Native village council must be willing to waive immunity from suit for claims arising out of activities of the council related to the payment; and
- WHEREAS, AS 29.60.879 requires the unincorporated community to have 25 or more residents residing as a social unit; and
- WHEREAS, AS 29.60.865 requires that at least three of the following services be available to all residents of the unincorporated community: fire protection, emergency medical, water and sewer, solid waste management, public road or ice road maintenance, public health, and search and rescue, and that each of the three services, in any combination, be provided by one or more qualifying incorporated nonprofit entity or a Native village council, or are substantially paid for by the residents of the unincorporated community through taxes, charges, or assessments levied or authorized by the borough;

NOW, THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

SECTION 1. That the Assembly hereby certifies that the following unincorporated communities and their respective Native village council or incorporated nonprofit entity are eligible for funding under the State's fiscal year 2012 Community Revenue Sharing Program:

UNINCORPORATED COMMUNITY	POSSIBLE COMMUNITY RECIPIENT
Anchor Point	Anchor Point Safewater Corporation Anchor Point Public Library Anchor Point Senior Citizens Anchor Point Volunteer Fire & EMS Snomads, Inc.
Bear Creek	Bear Creek Volunteer Fire & MS
Clam Gulch	Caribou Hills Cabin Hoppers
Cohoe	Kasilof Community Library (located in Cohoe)
Cooper Landing	Cooper Landing Community Club
Crown Point	Moose Pass Volunteer Fire & EMS (Crown Point Unit)
Diamond Ridge	KESA Volunteer Fire & EMS Kachemak Nordic Ski Club Kachemak Ski Club Snomads, Inc.
Fritz Creek	KESA Volunteer Fire & EMS Kachemak Nordic Ski Club Snomads, Inc.
Funny River	Funny River Chamber of Commerce
Норе	Hope, Inc.
Kachemak Selo Village	Kachemak Selo, Inc.
Kalifornsky	Central Area Rural Transit System Cook Inlet Aquaculture Association Kenai Peninsula Food Bank
Kasilof	Kasilof Regional Historical Association
Lowell Point	Lowell Point Community Council
Moose Pass	Moose Pass Volunteer Fire & EMS
Nanwalek	Nanwalek IRA Council
Nikiski	North Peninsula Community Council
Nikolaevsk	Nikolaevsk Community Council
Ninilchik	Kenai Peninsula Fair Association Ninilchik Emergency Services Ninilchik Community Library Ninilchik Senior Citizens

Primrose	Moose Pass Volunteer Fire & EMS (Primrose Unit)
Port Graham	Port Graham Village Council
Razdolna Village	Village of Razdolna, Inc.
Salamatof	Alaska Children's Institute for the Performing Arts
Seldovia Village	Seldovia Village Tribe
Sterling	Sterling Community Club Sterling Senior Center Sterling RuralCAP Headstart Program
Tyonek	Boys & Girls Clubs of Southcentral Alaska
Voznesenka Village	Voznesenka Community Council

SECTION 2. This resolution shall become effective immediately upon its adoption.

ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 3RD DAY OF MAY, 2011.

ATTEST:

Johni Blankenship, Borough Clerk

A SOO HAND OF THE PART OF THE

Yes:

Haggerty, Johnson, McClure, Murphy, Pierce, Smalley, Smith, Tauriainen, Knopp

No:

None

Absent:

None