Introduced by: Brown, Popp, Fischer Date: 10/24/00
Action: Adopted Vote: 9 Yes, 0 No

KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH COMMENDING RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE NIKISKI HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL TEAM AS THE ALASKA SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION SMALL-SCHOOLS STATE CHAMPIONS FOR THE YEAR 2000

- **WHEREAS**, the State Small-Schools High School Football Championship game was held in Anchorage on October 7, 2000; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Nikiski High School Football Team, the Bulldogs, qualified to participate in the state championship game by having an exceptional season record of 8-0; and
- WHEREAS, under the direction of Head Coach Scott Anderson and Assistant Coaches Lee Moore, Ted Riddall, Tim Johnson, Ward Romans, Lee Chadwick and Luke Balash, and Managers Blake Nash, Inger Hulien and Becky Parker, final victory was achieved over their opponent, the Soldotna Stars, by a score of 20-14; and

WHEREAS, members of the winning team include:

David Holloway Billy Kensinger Kyle Alexander Ryan Crumpacker **Todd Brigham** Chris McCaughey Aaron Allen Steve Calderwood Josh Reilly Jason Gerke Josh Winters Neil Fucci Tony Aitken Geoff Sanger Zach Hall Mike Cox David Deshong Scott Hyatt Seth Tauriainen Chris Parrish Gabe Laviguer Chris Pepper Nigel Penhale Josh Pepper Chris Overhuls Jake Sanders Angelo Luna Corey Grimm Chris Roofe Wayne Aitken Chuck Seater; and

WHEREAS, the performance of the winning football team was superb and a credit to their parents, school and community;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

SECTION 1. That the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly commends the Nikiski High School Football Team for their outstanding performance in winning the Year 2000 Small-Schools State Championship.

- **SECTION 2.** A special Certificate of Achievement shall be presented to each member of the winning team.
- **SECTION 3.** That a copy of this commending resolution shall be given to Principal Robin Williams and Assistant Principal Don Glaze of Nikiski High School, Coach Anderson, Assistant Coaches Moore, Riddall, Johnson, Romans, Chadwick, and Balash, and Managers Nash, Hulien, and Parker.

SECTION 4. This resolution becomes effective upon its adoption.

ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 24TH DAY OF OCTOBER 2000.

	Timothy Navarre, Assembly President
TTEST:	
Linda S. Murphy, Borough Clerk	_