Introduced by: Sprague
Date: 08/01/00
Action: Adopted
Vote: 7 Yes, 0 No, 2 Absent

## KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH COMMENDING RESOLUTION

## A RESOLUTION COMMENDING DISTRICT STUDENTS WHO PLACED FIRST IN THE INTERNATIONAL FUTURE PROBLEM SOLVING COMPETITION

- **WHEREAS**, the Future Problem Solving Program is a year-long educational program which challenges students to solve problems related to different topics of global significance set 20 or more years into the future; and
- WHEREAS, this program helps students to think more creatively and enthusiastically; develops an interactive interest in the future; improves oral and written communication skills; assists them in working cooperatively with their teammates; and develops critical and analytical thinking; and
- WHEREAS, under the direction of Coach Lisa Kent, the 9th grade team from Soldotna High School, comprised of Ella Ames, Heidi Biggs, Riley Kent and Jennifer McCard, outperformed the other 58 competing teams and earned First Place in the Middle Division Team Competition at the International Future Problem Solving Conference, held at the University of Georgia on June 8-11, 2000; and
- **WHEREAS**, these students are a credit to their families, schools and communities and are to be commended for their award winning performance at the International Future Problem Solving Conference;

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

- **SECTION 1.** That the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly commends the Kenai Peninsula Borough School District students who placed first in their respective category at the International Future Problem Solving Conference.
- **SECTION 2.** That a copy of this resolution shall be provided to Soldotna High School.
- **SECTION 3.** That certificates of achievement shall be provided to these award winning students and their coach.

**SECTION 4.** That this resolution takes effect immediately upon its adoption.

## ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 1ST DAY OF AUGUST, 2000.

|                                | William Popp, Assembly President |
|--------------------------------|----------------------------------|
| TTEST:                         |                                  |
|                                |                                  |
|                                |                                  |
|                                | <u></u>                          |
| Linda S. Murphy, Borough Clerk |                                  |