## KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH COMMENDING RESOLUTION

## A RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE SEWARD SEAHAWK WRESTLING TEAM AS THE 1999 3A STATE WRESTLING CHAMPIONS

- WHEREAS, the Seward Seahawk Wrestling Team has been a strong finisher in State 3A competition, taking fourth place in 1997 and second place in 1998; and
- WHEREAS, under the direction of Head Coach Ronn Hemstock and Assistant Coach Josh Weismann, the 1998-1999 team came into Regions having finished first in every tournament they entered this year, except one; and
- WHEREAS, the team members included:

| Eric Higbee   | 103#   | Jim Conant          | 145# | Bob Ferguson 171#    |
|---------------|--------|---------------------|------|----------------------|
| Sol Snyder    | 119#   | Jared Van Dreissche | 145# | Chris Eastman 152#   |
| Ryan Pease    | 125#   | Michael Gunther     | 152# | John Hamilton 189#   |
| Brandon Davis | s 125# | Ty Stone            | 160# | Corbin Stirling 189# |
| Darian Draper | 130#   | Steve Barnes        | 160# | Luke Walker 215#     |
| Marc Mooter   | 135#   | Bryan Higbee        | 160# | Doug Jones 215#      |
| Zach Rininger | 140#   | Bryan Thrall        | 171# | Terry Eliason HWT    |
| Ben Sauer     | 140#   | Blake Varnell       | 171# | Sean O'Clair HWT     |
|               |        | Jordan Eastman      | 171# |                      |

- **WHEREAS,** Seahawks Eric Higbee and Jim Conant wrestled to Championship status at 103 pounds and 145 pounds respectively; and
- **WHEREAS,** the performance of the Seahawk Wrestling Team was superb and a credit to their parents, school and community; and
- **WHEREAS**, through a determined team effort, in a come-from-behind win, with 169 points the Seward Seahawk Wrestling Team defeated their Peninsula rivals;

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

**SECTION 1.** That the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly congratulates the Seward Seahawk Wrestling Team as the 1999 3A State Wrestling Champions.

- **SECTION 2.** That the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly commends all participants in the 1999 3A State Wrestling Competition and congratulates Eric Higbee and Jim Conant for winning their weight classes and becoming individual 3A State Wrestling Champions.
- **SECTION 3.** That a copy of this resolution shall be given to the Coach Ronn Hemstock, Assistant Coach Josh Weismann, and the Seward Middle/Senior High School.
- **SECTION 4.** That Certificates of Achievement shall be provided to all members of the winning Seahawk Wrestling Team.
- **SECTION 5.** That this resolution takes effect immediately upon its adoption.

## ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 18TH DAY OF JANUARY, 2000.

William Popp, Assembly President

ATTEST:

Linda S. Murphy, Borough Clerk