Introduced by:	Mayor
Date:	05/20/03
Action:	Adopted
Vote:	9 Yes, 0 No

## KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH COMMENDING RESOLUTION

## HONORING THE INDIVIDUALS OF THE ARCTIC WINTER GAMES BID COMMITTEE FOR THEIR EXEMPLARY AND AWARD WINNING PERFORMANCE SHOWCASING THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH TO THE ARCTIC WINTER GAMES INTERNATIONAL COMMITTEE ON JANUARY 17, 2003 AND APRIL 16, 2003

- **WHEREAS,** the following members of the Kenai Peninsula 2006 Arctic Winter Games Bid Committee contributed hundreds of hours reading, researching, evaluating and preparing the materials and resources necessary to present an outstanding bid document describing how the Kenai Peninsula would be a great location for hosting the 19<sup>th</sup> Arctic Winter Games in the year 2006; and
- **WHEREAS,** members of the Kenai Peninsula Arctic Winter Games 2006 Bid Committee traveled to Whitehorse, in Yukon Territory Canada to hand deliver the Kenai Peninsula's bid proposal to the International Committee; and
- **WHEREAS**, members of the bid committee prepared for a site visit by the Arctic Winter Games International Committee (AWGIC) and won the right to host the 2006 Games; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Kenaitze Indian Tribe including the Chuda Kuya drummers, the dancer troupe and the Native Youth Olympic Athletes were instrumental in illustrating the ability of local cultures to work together; and
- WHEREAS, the Arctic Winter Games is a circumpolar celebration of sports and culture including teams from Alaska, Greenland, Yukon, Northwest Territories, Alberta North, Nunavut, Nunavik-Quebec, Saami People of Northern Scandinavia, and the three Russian Oblasts of Chukotka, Magadan and Yamal; and
- WHEREAS, the following individuals worked diligently on the preparation of the bid document, site visit by the AWGIC on January 17, 2003 and signing ceremony on April 16, 2003:

**Committee Chairs and Presenters:** Jack Brown, Becky Foster, Mayor Dale Bagley, Mayor David Carey, Mayor John Williams, Andrew Carmichael, Allan Miller, Joan Miller, Bill Popp, Bob Jones, Colette Thompson, Pam Howard, Lisa Wimmer, Debbie Holle, Todd Syverson, Michael Lengenfelder, Amber Glenzel, Clare Swan, Kathy Gensel, Gary Hale, Shirley Gifford, Jennifer Beckmann, Ricky Gease, Mark Gregory, Tim Navarre, Bunny Swan and Brandii O'Reagan

**Committee Members :** Pete Sprague, Grace Merkes, Mayor Jack Cushing, Representative Mike Chenault, Donna Peterson, Aud Walaszek, Bill Grimm, McKibben Jackinsky, Jane Stein, Bob Frates, Bob Lambe, Jeanne Camp, Cherie Brewer, Chuck Stauffer, Dena Cunningham, Jay Barrett, Joe Malatesta, Kristine Holdrige, Lou Collier, Marion Nelson, Merrill Sikorski, Paul Gray, Peter Ehrhardt, Trina Sanford, Jeremey Ley, Anna Johnson, Jon Andrews, Dennis Dunn, Stephanie Carroll and Tom O'Hara.

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

**SECTION 1.** Sincere appreciation is extended to these individuals for representing their Kenai Peninsula Communities in this historic effort. The experience of hosting the 2006 Arctic Winter Games will enhance our community and leave a legacy of stronger intercultural-relationships, lasting friendships and international recognition for the Kenai Peninsula and its communities.

**SECTION 2.** This resolution shall take effect immediately upon its adoption.

## ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 20TH DAY OF MAY, 2003.

Pete Sprague, Assembly President

ATTEST:

Linda S. Murphy, Borough Clerk