Introduced by: Glick, Chay
Date: 10/28/03
Action: Adopted
Vote: 8 Yes, 0 No, 1 Absent

## KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH COMMENDING RESOLUTION

## A RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE KENAI HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL TEAM AS THE ALASKA SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION SMALL-SCHOOLS STATE CHAMPIONS FOR THE YEAR 2003

- **WHEREAS**, the State Small-Schools High School Football Championship game was held at the Anchorage Football Stadium on October 11, 2003; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Kenai Central High School Kardinals qualified to participate in the state championship by having an exceptional season with 9 wins and 1 loss, in addition to winning the Northern Lights Conference championship; and
- WHEREAS, under the direction of Head Coach Jim Beeson and assistant coaches Jim Dawson, Clayton Holland, Jim Montgomery, Rocky DeMello, Aaron McCubbins and Ken Roser and, managers Ashley Rabalais and Candace Walker, final victory was achieved over their opponent, the Eielson Ravens, by a score of 46-0; and
- **WHEREAS**, this marks the second straight Alaska small-schools state championship for the Kenai Kardinals; and
- WHEREAS, members of the winning team include: Billy Loosli, Cole Chappel, Cory Whiteley, TJ Hancock, Tyler Chappell, Dakota Craig, Ronnie Rainey, Ryann Hansen, Marcus Reemtsma, Geordan Main, Stuart Stretch, Brandon Miles, Josh Bennett, Micah Lillard, Dusty Ward, Jose Araya, Les Krusen, Justin Lee, Michael Scheffert, Kyle Stanton, Michael Dormady, Kenny Dormady, Clint Keener, Zach DeMello, Danny Autry, Kevin King, Mackenzie Boyle, Papapa Nicholas, Kyle Waters, Isaia Faumui, Nick Lee, Mike Kent, Austin McLeod, Luke Oliver, and Randy Bleazard; and
- **WHEREAS**, the performance of the winning football team was superb and a credit to their parents, school and community;

## NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

**SECTION 1.** That the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly commends the Kenai Central High School Football Team for their outstanding performance in winning the Year 2003 Small-Schools State Championship.

- **SECTION 2.** A special Certificate of Achievement shall be presented to each member of the winning team.
- **SECTION 3.** That a copy of this commending resolution shall be given to Principal Dennis Dunn of Kenai Central High School, Coach Jim Beeson, Assistant Coaches Jim Dawson, Clayton Holland, Jim Montgomery, Rocky DeMello, Aaron McCubbins and Ken Roser and, Managers Ashley Rabalais and Candace Walker.

**SECTION 4.** This resolution becomes effective upon its adoption.

ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 28TH DAY OF OCTOBER, 2003.

	Pete Sprague, Assembly President
ATTEST:	