Introduced by:SpragueDate:04/15/03Action:AdoptedVote:9 Yes, 0 No

KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH COMMENDING RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE KENAI PENINSULA HOCKEY ASSOCIATION'S ICE HAWK PEE WEE TIER III HOCKEY TEAM AS 2003 TIER III ALASKA STATE CHAMPIONS

- WHEREAS, the Kenai Peninsula Hockey Association's Pee Wee Tier III team competed in the Alaska State Championship Tournament in Anchorage on March 27th through 30th; and
- WHEREAS, after four days of games they remained undefeated with 6 wins and 0 losses; and
- WHEREAS, with the final score of 5-2 against the Boys and Girls Club Sea Wolves, the Ice Hawks captured the 2003 Alaska State Tier III Pee Wee Championship Title; and
- **WHEREAS**, athletes of the Kenai Peninsula Hockey Association are encouraged to excel in academic and athletic challenges by their parents and coaches; and
- **WHEREAS**, the persons presented below have proven to their families, teammates, and most importantly, themselves, just how important hard work and teamwork can be; and

WHEREAS, the 11 through 13 year old members of the winning team include:

Zack Alkire, Forward Matt Barrett, Goalie Dominick Eubank, Defense Jordan Evanoff, Defense Beau Forrest, Forward Ryan Fusaro, Forward Kevin Garske, Defense Tim Gleason, Defense J.D. Gray, Forward Joshua Harvey, Forward Justin Herrmann, Forward Holden Hollenberg, Forward Jackson Kahn, Forward Anton Olson, Forward Holly Perkins, Defense Jacob Pokryfki, Defense Alex Stone, Forward

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

- **SECTION 1.** That the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly commends the Kenai Peninsula Hockey Association's Pee Wee team for winning their first Tier III Alaska State Championship Tournament.
- **SECTION 2.** That certificates of achievement shall be provided to the athletes and copies of the resolution shall be provided to Head Coach Greg Pokryfki and Assistant Coaches Terry Eubank, Dave Fasaro and Kelly Perkins.

SECTION 3. That this resolution takes effect immediately upon its adoption.

ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 15TH DAY OF APRIL, 2003.

	Pete Sprague, Assembly President
ATTEST:	
Linda S. Murphy, Borough Clerk	