Introduced by: Sprague
Date: 01/05/10
Action: Adopted
Vote: 9 Yes, 0 No, 0 Absent

KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH COMMENDING RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE POP WARNER SOLDOTNA SAINTS MIDGET FOOTBALL TEAM AS THE 2009 STATE CHAMPIONS

- **WHEREAS**, the Pop Warner Midget State Championship football game was held on October 18, 2009 at the Begich Middle School; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Soldotna Saints Midget football team advanced to the state championship tournament by having a perfect season of 7 wins and 0 losses; and
- WHEREAS, under the direction of Head Coach Cory Cockroft and Assistant Coaches Lowen Chatman, Galen Brantley and Sargent Truesdell the clinching victory over the Anchorage Buccaneers was won by a score of 13 to 10 to complete their perfect season; and
- WHEREAS, members of the winning team include: Bryan Dombovy (3), Colton Young (5), Jacob Ansel (6), Aaron Hinz (7), River Calloway (11), Jonathan Hauck (15), Timothy Price (23), Casey Simons (24), Tyler Howell (28), Raphael Ross (29), Cody Harvey (31), Brandon Rice (32), Tyler Yamada (34), Austin Cunningham (42), Hunter Lott (44), Jake Kooley (50), Samuel Deatherage (53), Daniel Rosin (65), Enoch Reams (68), Derek "Levi" Hansen (77), and Cody Cockroft (81); and
- **WHEREAS**, the performance of the winning Soldotna Saints Midget Football Team was superb and a credit to their parents, schools and the community;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

- **SECTION 1**. That the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly commends the Pop Warner Soldotna Saints Midget Football Team for their outstanding performance in winning the 2009 State Championship.
- **SECTION 2**. That a special Certificate of Achievement will be presented to each member of the winning team.
- **SECTION 3**. That a copy of this commending resolution will be given to Kenai Peninsula Pop Warner Association President Lee Young, Head Coach Corey Cockroft and Assistant Coaches Lowen Chatman, Galen Brantley and Sargent Truesdell.

SECTION 4. That this resolution becomes effective upon its adoption.

ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 5TH DAY OF JANUARY, 2010.

ATTEST:	Pete Sprague, Assembly President
Johni Blankenship, Borough Clerk	
Yes:	Fischer, Haggerty, Knopp, McClure, Pierce, Smalley, Smith, Superman, Sprague
No:	None
Absent:	None