Introduced by:

Murphy

Date:

10/26/10

Action:

Adopted

Vote:

9 Yes, 0 No, 0 Absent

KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH COMMENDING RESOLUTION

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE SOLDOTNA HIGH SCHOOL FOOTBALL TEAM AS THE ALASKA SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION SMALL-SCHOOLS STATE CHAMPIONS FOR THE YEAR 2010

- WHEREAS, the State Small-Schools High School Football Championship game was held at the Anchorage Football Stadium on October 16, 2010; and
- **WHEREAS**, the Soldotna High School Stars qualified to participate in the state championship by having a perfect season of 10 wins and 0 losses; and
- WHEREAS, under the direction of Head Coach Galen Brantley Jr. and Assistant Coaches James Knoebel, Derek Urban, Tai Lepule, Jeremy Chezik, Michael Redell, in the championship game the Stars extended their winning streak to 11 wins, defeating the Kenai Kardinals by a score of 77-42; and
- WHEREAS, this game was the highest scoring championship football game in Alaska history; and
- WHEREAS, this marks the eleventh appearance at the State Championship Game for the Stars and their fourth Alaska Small-Schools State Championship; and
- WHEREAS, members of the winning team include Colton Young (5), Caelan Elsey (9) Noah Fowler (14), River Calloway (18), Phil Bennett (23), Auston Tennis (24), Robbie Smithwick (25), Mason Kanakis (27), Peter Raley (28), Garret Bosick (33), Tate Syverson (34), Tanner Fowler (35), Jared Duncan (37), Reid Schmelzenbach (43), Troy Streiff (47), Hunter Hamrick (50), Jarrett Urban (53), Tyler Marcuson (55), Dakota Elsey (56), Gunnar Romatz (59), Gavin Larson (65), Tim Focht (72), Jonathan Granger (73), John Shirley (76), Daniel Koch (77), David Anthony Lopez (78), Dawson Pearson (88), Cody Warfield (99); and
- WHEREAS, 1st Team All-Conference and 1st Team All-State awards were presented to Robbie Smithwick, Halfback, Punter and Offensive Player of the Year; Phil Bennett, Fullback; David Anthony Lopez, Tackle; Dakota Elsey, Guard, Interior Lineman and Lineman of the Year; Tyler Marcuson, Center, Long Snapper and Interior Lineman; Robbie Smithwick, Kicker; Garrett Bosick, Outside Linebacker; Tate Syverson, Inside Linebacker; and

- WHEREAS, 2nd Team All-Conference and 2nd Team All-State awards were presented to Auston Tennis, Halfback; Garrett Bosick, Tight End; Robbie Smithwick, Outside Linebacker; Phil Bennett, Defensive Back; Tyler Marcuson, Long Snapper; and
- WHEREAS, All-Conference honorable mention were given to Tanner Fowler, Quaterback; Phil Bennett, Return Specialist; Jared Duncan, Inside Linebacker; Auston Tennis, Defensive Back; Dawson Pearson, Utility Player; and
- WHEREAS, All-Conference and All-State Assistant Coach of the Year Awards were presented to James Knoebel; and
- WHEREAS, the performance of the winning football team was superb and a credit to their parents, school and community;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH:

- SECTION 1. That the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly commends the Soldotna High School Football Team for their perfect season performance in winning the Year 2010 Small-Schools State Championship.
- **SECTION 2.** A special Certificate of Achievement shall be presented to each member of the winning team.
- SECTION 3. That a copy of this commending resolution shall be given to Principal Todd Syverson of Soldotna High School, Head Coach Galen Brantley Jr., Assistant Coaches James Knoebel, Derek Urban, Tai Lepule, Jeremy Chezik, Michael Redell and Managers Sam Meyers and Shay Reger.

SECTION 4. This resolution becomes effective upon its adoption.

ADOPTED BY THE ASSEMBLY OF THE KENAI PENINSULA BOROUGH THIS 26TH DAY OF OCTOBER, 2010.

T964

ATTEST:

Johni Blankenship, Borough Clerk

Yes:

Haggerty, Johnson, McClure, Murphy, Pierce, Smalley, Smith, Tauriainen, Knopp

No:

None

Absent:

None